Entering Into Sacred Space

Prelude: Andante Larghetto by Charles Stokes, performed by Russell Tripp on organ

Opening and Welcome

Chalice Lighting: Words from John Lewis

About Today’s Service


Love is the heart of this church.
We commit to:
Being a diverse, welcoming community of mutual care and respect;
Supporting each other's spiritual journey and search for truth and meaning;
Promoting justice and serving the wider community.
We hold ourselves to this promise with compassion and understanding.

Hymn #205: Amazing Grace, words by John Newton, music by Virginia Harmony, Russell Tripp: organ, Steve Schmidt & Andey Amata, vocals.

Amazing grace! How sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me!
I once was lost, but now am found,
Was blind but now I see.
‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
And grace my fears relieved;
How precious did that grace appear
The hour I first believed!
Through many dangers, toils and snares
I have already come;
‘Tis grace that brought me safe thus far,
And grace will lead me home.
When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
Bright shining as the sun,
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
Than when we’d first begun.

Building Beloved Community

Candles of Joy, Sorrows and Milestones

Offering: Si La Noche, Anonymous (Spain, 1500s) – Jon Sayles, guitar

Reading: Excerpts from John Lewis to Black Lives Matter protesters: ‘Give until you cannot give any more,’ editorial by Jonathan Capeheart in The Washington Post, June 18, 2020

Meditation: From the May 31, 2020 service of the First Universalist Church of Minneapolis – Dr. Arif Mamdani, Director of Membership and Adult Ministries, and Lauren Wyeth, Director of Children, Youth & Family Ministries

Sermon: Why Hope, delivered at at the First Universalist Church of Minneapolis on May 31, 2020 – Rev. Karen Hutt, Adjunct Minister

Sending Forth

Hymn #396: I Know This Rose Will Open, words and music by Mary E. Grigiola – Dr. Glen Thomas Rideout, Director of Worship and Music of the First Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Ann Arbor

Closing: Words of John Lewis